Road to the Kentucky Derby

The 2020 Road to the Kentucky Derby is a series of races through which horses will qualify for the 2020 Kentucky Derby, which will be held on May 2. The field for the Derby is limited to 20 horses, with up to four 'also eligibles' in case of a late withdrawal from the field. There are three separate paths for horses to take to qualify for the Derby: the main Road consisting of races in North America (plus one in Dubai), the Japan Road consisting of four races in Japan, and the European Road with seven European races in England, Ireland and France. The top four finishers in the specified races receive points, with higher points awarded in the major prep races in March and April. Earnings in non-restricted stakes races act as a tie breaker.

Saturday, May 2, 2020
  • Wood Memorial at Aqueduct: April 4, 2020
  • Santa Anita Derby at Santa Anita Park: April 4, 2020
  • Blue Grass at Keeneland: April 4, 2020
  • Arkansas Derby at Oaklawn Park: April 11, 2020
  • Lexington at Keeneland: April 11, 2020